News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/10/2017 1:32:23 PM to 11/13/2017 12:00:17 AM.

News Flash

City News

Posted on: October 10, 2017

[ARCHIVED] General Election is Nov. 7


The General Election is on Tuesday, Nov. 7, and early and absentee voting begins Oct. 11.

There are several Galion city offices on the ballot:


Kenneth Bodkins, Sr.

Jim Hedges

Thomas O’Leary

Council President

Carl Watt

City Auditor

Susan Bean

Paula Durbin

Brian Treisch

Law Director

Thomas Palmer

Roberta Wade

Council-At-Large (vote for three)

Gail Baldinger

Shirley Clark

Thomas Fellner

Alice Matthews

Carrie Zeger

First Ward

Bill Comerford

Second Ward

Mark Triplett

Third Ward

Joe Haley

Mike Richart

Fourth Ward

Jennifer Kuns

Tammy Siclair-Erlsten

Also, Galion City Schools has two open seats on the Board of Education. Candidates are:

Debra Donaldson


In local issues, the Crawford-Marion Board of Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services (ADAMH Board) is seeking a tax renewal for the purpose of current expenses. The rate is not to exceed 1 mill for each one dollar of valuation, which amounts to $0.10 for each one hundred dollars of valuation.

Crawford County Children Services is seeking an additional tax for operating and capital services to support children services and the care and placement of children. The rate is not to exceed 1.5 mills for each one dollar of valuation.

There are also two statewide ballot issues.

State Issue 1: To repeal and replace the existing language in Section 10a of Article I of the Constitution of the State of Ohio.

State Issue 2: To require state agencies to not pay more for prescription drugs than the federal Department of Veterans Affairs and require state payment of attorney fees and expenses to specific individuals for defense of the law.

Full ballot language for these state issues is available by clicking here.

The Crawford County Board of Elections is located at 112 East Mansfield Street, Suite A, in Bucyrus. The phone number is 419-562-8721 and office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.  You can also visit the Secretary of State’s website for further voting information.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News

Revitalization of Northwest Ohio Treasure Expected to Fuel Economic Growth

Posted on: February 15, 2024 | Last Modified on: August 8, 2016